Judge


Judge John Shirley


Clerk


Annie Scarborough
Phone: 601-863-3237
Email:
Clerk@PearlYouthCourt.com


Prosecutor


Jim Bobo is the youth court prosecutor and the adult municipal court prosecutor.


Public Defender


Brendan Sartin is the youth court public defender and the adult municipal court public defender.

Brendan Sartin
Law Office: Sartin Law Firm


Law Enforcement Officers


Pearl Law Enforcement Juvenile Division Officers investigate allegations that a child has been abused, neglected, or has committed a crime.

Lieutenant Amanda Thomasson
Phone: 601-932-3572
Email:
AThomasson@cityofpearl.com

Detective Justin Barnette
Phone: 601-939-7000
Email: JBarnette@cityofpearl.com

Detective Jose Valle
Phone: 601-939-7000
Email: JValle@cityofpearl.com

Detective Phillip Underwood
Phone: 601-939-7000
Email: PUnderwood@cityofpearl.com


Guardian ad Litem


The Youth Court Guardian ad Litem, Debra Baker, who is appointed by the Youth Court Judge, is appointed as an arm of the Court to investigate and make recommendations regarding allegations of child abuse and child neglect.

Debra Baker
Phone: 601-863-3202
Email:
GAL@PearlYouthCourt.com


Court Counselors


The Court Counselor, Michael Howard, counsels with and provides supervision for children who have been placed on probation.

Michael Howard
Phone: 601-863-3233
Email:
Michael.Howard@mdhs.ms.gov


DHS (now CPS) - Child Protection Services


Rankin County Department of Human Services now known as Rankin County Child Protection Services (CPS), 601-824-6322, investigates allegations that a child has been abused or neglected.

Pearl CPS Area Social Work Supervisor, April Edwards, supervises other CPS workers assigned to children who have allegedly been abused or neglected.

April Edwards
Phone: 601-824-6322
Email:
April.Edwards@mdhs.ms.gov


Forms, Comments & Frequent Questions


Forms


Attorney entry of appearance form: pdf format OR Word format.


Delinquency Dispositional Alternatives: pdf format.


Abuse/Neglect Dispositional Alternatives: pdf format.


Comments & Frequently Asked Questions


Youth Court involves children who are allegedly abused; neglected; delinquent; in need of supervision; and/or in need of mental health treatment.


Click here to read some youth court definitions and a comparison between adult criminal court and youth court for a child who is accused of committing an act that would be considered a crime if the child was an adult.


Click here for frequently asked questions.